Interviewing Fashion Designer Amalraj Sengupta

22lfw-amalraj5

When did your passion for fashion arise?

It goes back to my high school days. That time itself I realized tallying accounts or understanding the human body never interested me. To say the least, studying school textbooks bored me. Thereafter, in junior college, I took up Fashion as one of the subjects. While learning the basics about Fashion, my interest in the same grew deeper. It was always a pleasure doing creative things. Besides that, I always had an inclination towards designing. Even in those days I tailored and designed trousers, shirts, leather belts, watch straps, and also shoes — for myself and my friends.

Which designer inspired and continues to inspire you the most? Why?

The Late Alexander McQueen and John Galliano inspire me the most because they have always showed something new in their collections every season. Their collections always narrated a story and reflected lucid themes. They were never random. Yohji Yamamoto is another man I look up to. He is known for his irrepressible skills for designing avant-garde tailor-mades in black and white, which of course, is not an easy job.

IMG_3172Do you do both pret and couture?

I design both pret and couture. For me, couture is hand stitched suits, which are — hand stitched jackets and tuxedos for both men and women.

How will you describe your designs in general?

I make modern, futuristic, structured and well-fitted clothes. I mostly design bespoke garments for men and women, which are mostly western wear like shirts, dresses, skirts, jackets and suits.

Will one find fine Bengali craftsmanship in your designs?

My garments are all about fabrics and structuring. I use a lot of hand woven fabrics. However, I look forward to promoting crafts in the future in terms of ornamentation.

Do you like playing with silhouettes or colours?

I like playing with silhouettes more than colours.

Most of your designs boast of modernism in solid colours.

To me, designing is more about silhouettes and patterns. I use solid colours because I want my patterns and silhouettes to be more impactful. But, if the collection demands a rainbow of colours, then I don’t hesitate in playing with it.

How do you come up with new ideas for your collections?

There is no hard and fast rule to my inspirations for new collections. I take inspiration from anything and everything that interests me. For instance, I enjoy photography. Hence, different pictures and images inspire me the most. The understanding comes from what I perceive from the pictures or any other visuals. I always try to share or narrate a story through my collections.

Does music inspire you?

Music does inspire me a lot. It helps me in giving an abstract expression and emotional latitude to my designs.

What will your fans see you in on a regular weekend?

I will be mostly seen in half pants and a t-shirt.

Have you ever designed for celebrities?

I have not designed for any celebrity in particular. But yes, many have worn my clothes for magazine shoots. Konkona Sen Sharma is one such example. I have also designed for a television show called ”meri toh lag gayi naukari,” screened on UTV channel. 221140_195432953833657_7864205_o

Which fashion show you look forward to being a part of?

Wills India Fashion Week

Where can one find your designs in Kolkata?

At my studio.

Three things one will find on you at any time.

My sling bag, my mobile and my bike keys.

Besides designing and making others look absolutely stunning, what do you like doing in your free time?

Eating a lot of food, travelling, photography and watching movies.

Contact details.

8A, Avenue South, Santoshpur, Jadavpur

033-40038934, 9836321460

amalrajsengupta@gmail.com